Marguerite Pilven

Marguerite Pilven is a art critic with a BA in Philosophy (specialization in Aesthetics) and a Masters in Art History focusing on Pierre Klossowski (the Mysteries of Roberte or the ambiguous image). and exhibition curator member of the AICA.
His exhibition curators are an extension and materialization of his critical research, itself constantly crossed by the reading of theoretical texts from the fields of philosophy, anthropology, history, literature, image and media theory. The exhibition curator is for her a privileged moment of sharing the state of her research where the untroubled thought is deposited in a configuration of chosen works.

L'Antichambre project
Following Ryoko Sekiguchi "Cooking, eating, this is one of the few acts where we use our five senses'. Lthe three guest artists have in common to make the human body the center of a set of works in connection with our way of living in the world, in world of animals or plants : our feelings and the way we react to our environment depends on our body that is itself made with similar matters.  Each of the artists is working in a domestic, anthropological or political way and had produced an important body of work in which the common factor is the inspiration of images from tasting, subsistence, devouring.  As an expanded frame,  the hotel room by proximity and reflection, suggest with contrasts an unfolding narrative. As part of the journey or trip location the room is both a living space and a space with people just passing through in which they are able to surrendering to sleep, to dream or to love...
 

Maike Freess

Maike Freess was born in Leipzig in 1965, she currently lives in Berlin. For more than 20 years, Maike Freess has been developing a multidisciplinary work where the body, in its social and cultural functions, serves as a common thread for her drawings, videos, sculptures. Partly trained in France in the workshop of Christian Boltanski, his artistic culture is however Germanic and his work reveals a certain taste for deformations, hallucinating visions of Mathias Grünewald, the pathos of Baldung Grien or the caricature of Otto Dix.

Maike Freess is an artist for whom art is not an end in itself, not a play of forms or images. Instead she uses it to fundamentally question everything that seems familiar and certain to us: she presents the insanity that is held to be the logic of reality, the insecurities from which individual consciousness is composed. Her subject matter, as she puts it, is “the human being in her imperfect, limited and unstable nature, her relationship to herself, her surroundings, to other people and society, the ambiguity of the human psyche”.

Beate Eickhoff

 
L'Antichambre project
Jessica Lajard works are physically connected to human body and feed. She produced in Limoges, french famous city .known worldwide for its white porcelain, several cylindarical sets personifying human body.  The minimalist and similar shapes  operate by an alignment system which requires some imagination because of several options of combination. Lajard keeps her design work simple with simple shapes. She uses reduction of primitive and geometrical forms  as serial products. This idea is reinforced by the white industrially manufactured product from the procelain workshops of Manufacture de Limoges.  The work "Eye candy," summarises an efficent suggestion between touch and see.  The Bodies-cylinders are obstructed by some Chantilly cream prominences and wore a white and creamy acorn on top. Sounds as something from Marquis de Sade both lust and ludic, the Writer who wanted to put some bite back in the body, and show the bright side of Desire.

Jessica Lajard

After growing up in the Caribbean Jessica Lajard moved to Paris to pursue her art studies at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux Arts de Paris where she recieved her diploma in 2010. Jessica Lajard’s work is a repertoire of shapes freely inspired by popular imagery which are often combined with sexual illusions that fl irt with the grotesque. Sometimes thought out in advance through drawing, her installations spread out in space just like they did during the 59th Salon of Montrouge (2014) where the artist plunged us into a textured post-card scenery, where she blended textile, ceramic elements and marble in a fizzy, pop and surreal atmosphere of shells and crustaceans. For her nomination at the Révélations Emerige 2015 she captured us in a more intimate and domestic installation with Somewhere Where the Grass is Greener. She has participated to many group shows and fairs and, after her residency at Ensa Limoges, her work was shown at the Musée National Adrien Dubouché - Cité de la céramique Sèvres & Limoges. In 2016 she had two major solo shows, Soft Spot at La Traverse, the Contemporary Art Centre of Alfortville (FR) and Out of the Blue at the François Mitterrand Cultural Centre in Beauvais (FR)

L'Antichambre project

Olivier Leroi's works should be characterized by polymorphic practises, but only guided by inspirations and emotions, by walks, digressions and mind shortcuts. He enjoys using diffrent objects and stands and pay special attention to details and questions regarding the earliest origins, the meaning and the sens of acts. He operates by allegories including scaling up to associate a meaningful observation to imagination. : there the tiny look at the infinity, the personnal and the universal are much more tightly bunched. Olivier Leroi was invited by La Mauvaise Réputation Gallery to a collective exhibition about wine and proposed a work performed from Alcool, a Guillaume Apollinaire poem. Artist in residence at the la Maison Rabelais, he pretends to press the analogy between  the wooden board used to put rations into the large mouth of Gargantua and the large labret, or wooden plug, in their lower lip of the Amazonian caciques. « One of Daumier’s Engraving shows Gargantua in a sequence of continuous large-scale feeding in the expression of profusion of an infinite world, into a mouth without quantitative limits. This situation is the opposite of which one recommanded by Chief Raoni from Amazonian tribe. In a resource-limited world we need to understand in a measured way that the physical world is finite.  Here, The chief Raoni labret should therefore be seen as an a bridge for words, in a manner of speaking : a comprehensible language board.» Olivier Leroi

 

Olivier Leroi

After training as a forester in Corrèze, Olivier Leroi was a student of the Graduate Institute of Plastic Arts, under the supervision of Pontus Hulten. Enlightened by this new experience, he developed a work of drawing and sculpture whose common thread is the relationship with the environment. The work takes place through an exchange which it crystallizes, it is inserted into a materiality which it probes and amplifies. Based on the economy of the gesture and a refined observation that plays with scales, it is similar to an operation of revealing reality in its sensitive, cognitive, emotional dimensions. During his travels, Olivier Leroi creates works with people he meets on his intervention sites and collects testimonies of his "lived works" through photographs and filmed performances: "First snow in Dogon country", Mali, "El Zorro blanco", Mexico, "La brigade de Chambord", "Bruno, donkey and butterflies". In the context of public procurement, it endeavors to link the contexts and the emergences experienced: "Abscisses-ordées" at the Collège du Brunoy, "A molecule of water in water" at the Lycée du Giennois, "Twenty-one stories in the wind", in college de Thiant, "Les 5 sens" Tronche-sur-Isère Neuro-science Institute, 1020 km in Mont-Gerbier-de-Jonc. 

© Alta Volta Agency

Marguerite Pilven

Diplômée d’une Licence de philosophie (spécialisation  Esthétique) et d’une Maîtrise en histoire de l’art portant sur Pierre Klossowski (les Mystères de Roberte ou l'image ambigüe) à la Sorbonne Paris 1, Marguerite Pilven est critique d'art et commissaire d'exposition membre de l'AICA.

Ses commissariats d'exposition sont un prolongement et une matérialisation de ses recherches critiques, elles-mêmes constamment traversées par la lecture de textes théoriques issus des champs de la philosophie, de l'anthropologie, de l'histoire, de la littérature, de la théorie des images et des médias. Le commissariat d'exposition est pour elle un moment de partage privilégié de l'état de ses recherches où la pensée intranquille se dépose en une configuration d'œuvres choisies.

L'Antichambre project
"Faire la cuisine, manger, c’est un des rares actes où l’on utilise nos cinq sens" rappellait Ryoko Sekiguchi dans un entretien. Les trois artistes invités ont pour point commun de faire du corps humain le centre d’un ensemble d’oeuvres liées à nos façons d’habiter le monde, en lien avec d’autres règnes, notamment le règne animal, de le façonner, de le percevoir, de le ressentir, d’en faire partie, au sens où le corps est lui-même fait de cette matière du monde. Dans leur approche intime, domestique, anthropologique, politique de cette question, chacun d’entre eux compte dans son corpus artistique une ou plusieurs oeuvres directement connectées à la question de la dégustation, de la subsistance ou de la dévoration. En les exposant dans une chambre d’hôtel, je souhaite les faire résonner ensemble en des jeux de proximité, de contraste et de complémentarité favorisant la mise en place d’un récit, ainsi que faire écho au lieu d’habitation et de passage qu’est la chambre, en lien avec le voyage, l’agrément, le déplacement, le corps qui s’abandonne au sommeil, au rêve ou à l’amour.
 

Maike Freess

Maike Freess vit actuellement à Berlin. Depuis plus de 20 ans, elle développe une œuvre pluridisciplinaire où le corps, dans ses fonctions sociales et culturelles, sert de fil conducteur à ses dessins, ses vidéos, ses sculptures. Formée en partie en France dans l’atelier de Christian Boltanski, sa culture artistique est cependant germanique et son travail révèle un goût certain pour les déformations, les visions hallucinées de Mathias Grünewald, le pathos de Baldung Grien ou la caricature d’Otto Dix.

"Ses biografies affirment que Maike Freess est née en 1965 à Leipzig. Il faut donc croire à la métempsychose car cette artiste est possédée par l'esprit de Baldung Grien, à moins que ce ne soit celui de Grünewald, ou, plus près de nous, de Bellmer. Sur papier blanc ou noire, elle dessine avec la même sûreté de traits qu'eux et la même manière légère de suggérer les volumes des têtes et des corps par des lignes sinueuses et des ponctuations de lumière. Mais elle est d'aujourd'hui. On a observé ces visages féminins moroses ou hébétés dans les rues. Les défilés militaires qui montent de l'arrière plan, on les connait aussi, depuis le XXe siècle. AMOK, le très grand dessin, est l'une des plus impressionnantes allégories de l'histoire récente que l'on ait vues. L'une des plus cruelles aussi."

Philippe Dagen

 
L'Antichambre project
L’œuvre de Jessica Lajard comporte plusieurs sculptures qui travaillent la connexion charnelle entre corps humain et nourriture. En résidence à Limoges, ville mondialement connue pour sa porcelaine blanche, Lajard a réalisé une série de modules cylindriques décomposant le corps humain en deux unités complémentaires : la tête et le tronc. Leur minimalisme, leur similitude et leur principe d’emboîtement appellent l’imaginaire à étudier tout l’éventail de combinaisons possibles entre ces modules. Lajard y a tenté l’approche la plus simple du corps humain, la tête et le tronc formant des modules quasi identiques. On est en pleine réduction à des formulations géométriques et démultiplication infinie en série, dans l'esprit de l'art minimal. Ce parti-pris se conjugue avec les origines industrielles de la porcelaine et sa blancheur. Eye candy, le titre de l'oeuvre, synthétise efficacement ce raccourci de l'oeil et du toucher qu'elle suggère. Les parties amovibles, des pointes de chantilly, obstruent les organes faciaux des robots et coiffent d'un gland crémeux le cylindre planté sur les modules-tronc. Ce « compagnonnage du ludique et du lubrique » me fait penser au Marquis de Sade, cet homme qui souhaitait avant tout « redonner du corps à la pensée », « montrer la face lumineuse du désir ».

Jessica Lajard

Après avoir grandi dans les Caraibes, Jessica Lajard sort diplômée en 2010 de l’École des Beaux Arts de Paris. Son œuvre propose un répertoire de formes librement inspirées de l’imaginaire populaire, flirtant avec le grotesque et les allusions sexuelles. Parfois issues d’un dessin, ses installations se déploient ensuite dans l’espace, à l’instar de son exposition au 59eme Salon de Montrouge (2014) ; immersion dans une scène de carte postale, où les textures - céramique, marbre et textile - se mélangent, le tout créant une atmosphère de coquillages et crustacés pétillante, pop et surréaliste. De même, pour sa nomination au Prix Révélations Emerige en 2015, elle introduit le visiteur dans une installation, Somewhere Where the Grass is Greener, cette fois plus intime et rappelant l’univers domestique. Outre sa participation à de nombreuses expositions collectives et foires d’art, Jessica Lajard a notamment exposé au Musée National Adrien Dubouché – Cité de la Céramique Sèvres & Limoges, après sa résidence à l’ENSA Limoges. En 2016, elle réalise deux expositions personnelles d’envergure, Soft Spot (La Traverse, Centre d’Art Contemporain, Alfortville et Out of the blue (Centre Culturel François Mitterand, Beauvais).

L'Antichambre project
Artiste à la pratique multiforme, uniquement guidée par les digressions, promenades et raccourcis de la pensée, Olivier Leroi intervient sur toute sorte de supports et d’objets (naturels, imprimés, taxidermisés, sculptés, manufacturés…) Leur sobriété, alliée à une attention ténue au détail, touche à la question des origines, au sens de l’acte et du sens. Ces allégories construites sur des glissements d’échelles associent l’observation concrète à l’imaginaire. Le plus intime interroge le plus universel, l’infime et l’infini dialoguent dans un mouchoir de poche. Invité par la galerie bordelaise La Mauvaise Réputation à participer à une exposition collective portant sur le vin, il réalise une oeuvre à partir de la double page d’un livre de Guillaume Apollinaire, issu du recueil de poème Alcool. Dans le cadre d’un projet de résidence à la Maison Rabelais, il imagine « développer l’analogie entre la longue planche qui sert à acheminer des hottes pleines de victuailles à la grande bouche de Gargantua et le labret du cacique d’Amazonie. Dans la gravure de Daumier, Gargantua est en quelque sorte nourri à la chaîne, on y sent une profusion, un monde infini, une bouche à engloutir sans limites. Dans notre monde aux ressources limitées, le chef Raoni d’une tribu d’Amazonie défend la forêt brésilienne, à l’inverse il apporte la mesure, la conscience d’un monde fini. Son plateau buccal (labret) est ici plutôt un pont pour la parole, le plateau du langage. » (Propos d’Olivier Leroi).
 

Olivier Leroi

Après avoir suivi une formation de forestier en Corrèze, Olivier Leroi a été élève de l’Institut des hautes études en arts plastiques, sous la direction de Pontus Hulten. Eclairé par cette nouvelle expérience, il a développé un travail de dessin et de sculpture dont le fil rouge est la relation au milieu. L’œuvre advient par un échange qu’elle cristallise, elle s’insère dans une matérialité qu’elle sonde et amplifie. Fondée sur l’économie du geste et une observation affinée qui se joue des échelles, elle s’apparente à une opération de dévoilement de la réalité dans ses dimensions sensibles, cognitives, émotives. Lors de ses voyages, Olivier Leroi crée des œuvres avec des personnes rencontrées sur ses lieux d’intervention et collecte les témoignages de ses « œuvres vécues » par des photographies et des performances filmées : Première neige en pays Dogon (Mali), El Zorro blanco (Mexiqu), La brigade de Chambord, Bruno, l’âne et les papillons ... Dans le cadre de la commande publique, il s’attache à mettre en lien les contextes et les émergences vécues : Abscisses-ordonnées au Collège du Brunoy, Une molécule d’eau dans l’eau au lycée du Giennois, Vingt et une histoires dans le vent, au collège de Thiant, Les 5 sens, Institut de Neuro-science de la Tronche-sur-Isère,  ou encore un film en hélicoptère,1020 km à Mont-Gerbier-de-Jonc.

© Alta Volta Agency